StatoilHydro nominates four artists for Art Award 2009

Four young artists – Ida Ekblad, Marius Engh, Anawana Haloba and Lars Laumann – have been nominated for the StatoilHydro art award 2009. The prize will be awarded in Oslo, Norway, in December.

The StatoilHydro art award is a biennial award, the purpose of which is to stimulate and recognise talented young artists working in Norway (or Norwegian citizens working abroad) and enable them to develop their art. Worth NOK 500,000 (EUR 58,000 / USD 83,000) it is the largest art award in Norway.

Independent jury

The nominees have been selected by an independent jury of five, chaired this year by the internationally acclaimed Norwegian artist and professor Olav Christopher Jenssen. The other members of the jury are Solveig Øvstebø, director of Bergen Contemporary Art Centre, Bergen, Norway, Øystein Ustvedt, curator at the National Museum of Art, Architecture and Design in Oslo, Norway, Caroline Ugelstad, curator at the Henie-Onstad Art Centre, Bærum, Norway and Göran Christenson, director of the Malmö Art Museum, Malmö, Sweden.

“It’s a great pleasure to present these four nominees on behalf of the jury. They represent a very promising generation of artists and they all have what it takes to handle an award like this,” says Olav Christopher Jenssen.

This year the four nominees are Ida Ekblad (29), Marius Engh (35), Anawana Haloba (31) and Lars Laumann (34). They will be invited to show their work at the nomination exhibition, during which the winner will be announced. The exhibition opens at Kunstnerforbundet Gallery of Contemporary Art in Oslo, on Friday 27 November.

“Talent is important, but the determination and perseverance necessary to express it is perhaps even more important. We want to give new talents the opportunity they need to create the success stories of tomorrow,” says Jens R Jenssen, senior vice president of corporate human resources and leader of StatoilHydro’s art programme.

The art award is part of the StatoilHydro programme Heroes of Tomorrow which also recognises outstanding talents within education, classical music, rock and sport. The StatoilHydro art award was first awarded in 2007 to the young Norwegian artist Camilla Løw.

Read more about the artists and the programme “Heroes of Tomorrow” on:

Norwegian American Logo

The Norwegian American

The Norwegian American is North America's oldest and only Norwegian newspaper, published since May 17, 1889.