Readmission agreements with Montenegro and Serbia

Norway has formed readmission agreements with Montenegro and Serbia. An exemption from the visa requirement will also be made effective for these countries and for Macedonia starting on 19 December.

”This is in correlation with the government’s objective to establish good readmission agreements with as many nations as possible. These agreements will make it possible for Norway to send back individuals who have overstayed the visa validity period, had their applications for asylum denied or in another way are residing illegally in Norway. This can also serve to discourage persons who do not have a basis for residency from coming to Norway,” says Minister of Justice Knut Storberget.

The agreements regulate the collaboration between Norway and the nations mentioned above with respect to the matter of return. They provide the necessary parameters for effectuating returns in a smooth and time-efficient manner.

As of 19 December 2009, individuals from Serbia, Montenegro and Macedonia will not need a visa to travel to Norway. Thus, citizens from these nations who have biometric passports can travel on short-term visits of up to 90 days to the Schengen region, including Norway.

”It is important that Norwegian regulations are in harmony with the EU regulations in terms of who is exempt from the visa requirement for the Schengen region and who is not. This will make it easier for people from these nations who wish to visit Norway, for example, during the Christmas holiday,” says the Minister of Justice.

The visa exemption applies to the entire Schengen region. It entails a visa exemption for entry into the member states of the EU, with the exception of Great Britain and Ireland, who are not a part of the Schengen collaboration.

Source: Ministry of Justice and the Police

Films of Norway_bunad
Norwegian American Logo

The Norwegian American

Published since May 17, 1889 PO Box 30863 Seattle WA 98113 Tel: (206) 784-4617 • Email: