Max Manus – the big Amanda winner of 2009

Max Manus was the big winner in Haugesund on Friday night. Photo:

With as many as seven Amanda Awards – including Best Norwegian Film in Theatrical Release, The People’s Amanda and Best Screenplay – Max Manus became this year’s great Amanda winner.

The movie is based on real events of the life of the Norwegian WWII resistance fighter, Max Manus.

The awards ceremony took place on August 21 during a live TV transmission from the Haugesund Concert Hall. The awards presentation concluded the film year of 2008/2009 and kicked off the Norwegian International Film Festival.

An entire hall full of colleagues and friends rose and paid tribute to Thomas Nordseth-Tiller when he posthumously received an Amanda for his screenplay for the film. Nordseth-Tiller sadly died of cancer in May. He was only 28. “Thomas, you should have been her today,” said his brother, who together with the rest of the family received the award on his behalf.

The incredibly talented Aksel Hennie, who received Best Actor for his role as the heroic resistance fighter, honored Thomas for his great personality and brilliance. Best Actress in a Supporting Role went to Hennie’s co-star Agnes Kittelsen, who played the title character’s wife “Tikken”.

Earlier this year Max Manus was showed at a private screening in New York. Hopefully soon this excellent movie will come to a theatre near you.

The 2009 Amanda winners:

Best Norwegian Film in Theatrical Release:

Max Manus, produced by John M. Jacobsen and Sveinung Golimo for Filmkameratene AS

Best Children’s and Youth Film:

Through a Glass, Darkly, director Jesper W. Nielsen

Best Direction:

Arild Fröhlich, Fatso

Best Actress:

Ellen Dorrit Petersen, Ice Kiss

Best Actor:

Aksel Hennie, Max Manus

Best Actress in a Supporting Role:

Agnes Kittelsen, Max Manus

Best Actor in a Supporting Role:

Mads Sjøgård Pettersen, North

Best Screenplay:

Thomas Nordseth-Tiller, Max Manus

Best Cinematography:

Geir Hartly Andreassen, Max Manus

Best Production Design / Scenography:

Guri Giæver, Hidden

Best Music:

Johan Söderqvist, Troubled Water

Best Editing:

Einar Egeland, Troubled Water

Best Sound Design:

Baard Haugan Ingebretsen and Tormod Ringnes, Max Manus

Best Short Film:

Darek, director Jonas Matzow Gulbrandsen

Best Documentary:

Modern Slavery, directors Thomas Robsahm and Tina Davis

Best Foreign Film:

Slumdog Millionaire, directors Danny Boyle and Loveleen Tandan, distributor SF Norge

The Amanda Committee Golden Clapper:

Malte Wadman

The Amanda Committee Honorary Award:

Kjersti Holmen, Helge Jordal, Sverre Anker Ousdal

The People’s Amanda:

Max Manus, directors Espen Sandberg and Joachim Rønning, producers John M. Jacobsen and Sveinung Golimo for Filmkameratene AS

Norwegian American Logo

The Norwegian American

The Norwegian American is North America's oldest and only Norwegian newspaper, published since May 17, 1889.