Free flow of labor from Eastern Europe

From May 1 workers from Eastern Europe my enter Norway without first having to obtain a work permit. Earlier they needed a work contract for full time employment for at least 12 months.

Workers from the so-called EU8-nations (Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Czheckia and Hungary) may now, on level with other EU nations freely enter Norway, without first having obtained full time employment.

Norway and the other EEA (European Economic Area) nations introduced the restrictive measures in 2004 in order to protect their own labor markets, when the EU was expanded by 10 new East European nations. The aim was to prevent social dumping and exploitation of the Norwegian social welfare system.

Source: Norway Post/NRK.

Films of Norway_bunad
Norwegian American Logo

The Norwegian American

Published since May 17, 1889 PO Box 30863 Seattle WA 98113 Tel: (206) 784-4617 • Email:

You may also like...

%d bloggers like this: