Asmund Kristoffersen wins Baltic Sea Prize


Photo: Magnus Fröderberg/

Photo: Magnus Fröderberg/

Norwegian MP Asmund Kristoffersen received an award on Saturday for his commitment to the Baltic Sea and its environment. Kristoffersen, member of the Nordic Council and chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Committee, has been awarded a new €10,000 prize by the Baltic Sea Fund.

The Baltic Sea Fund’s three traditional €15,000 prizes went to Professor Enn Loigu from Estonia, journalist Isabella Lövin from Sweden and architect Gunda Åbonde-Wickström from Åland. The award ceremony was held in Mariehamn on May 9.

Kristoffersen has been involved in environmental co-operation in and around the Baltic Sea on many levels, in particular as chair of the Nordic Council Environment and Natural Resources Committee.

The new prize, known as the Lasse Wiklöf Baltic Sea Prize, is awarded to a Nordic parliamentarian for efforts to improve conditions in the Baltic Sea and for displaying in-depth knowledge, deep commitment and plenty of drive. The prize has been set up to honour the memory of the Åland MP Lasse Wiklöf who died in autumn 2008. Wiklöf and was deeply committed to Nordic co-operation and to cleaning up the Baltic Sea.

Founded in 1989, the Baltic Sea Fund is celebrating its 20th anniversary this year.

Norwegian American Logo

The Norwegian American

The Norwegian American is North America's oldest and only Norwegian newspaper, published since May 17, 1889.