ASCAP Pop Music Award to Norwegian Stargate




Norwegian Stargate (Mikkel Eriksen & Tor Hermansen) have been named “Songwriter of the Year” at the 26th Annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards, at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel in Hollywood, California.

ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams and ASCAP CEO John A. LoFrumento presented Norwegian songwriters/producers Mikkel Eriksen and Tor Hermansen with ASCAP’s Songwriter of the Year award.

Collectively known as Stargate, the duo was responsible for penning an impressive six of the most performed songs of the past year: Chris Brown’s “With You,” Ne-Yo’s “Closer” and “Miss Independent,” Rihanna’s “Don’t Stop the Music” and “Take a Bow,” and Jordin Sparks’s “Tattoo.”

This is the second time that Stargate have been named Songwriters of the Year — the hit-making duo picked up the coveted prize at the 2007 ASCAP Awards in London after taking the charts by storm with a string of hits, including the Billboard #1 “So Sick” by Ne-Yo.

Source: Norway Post.

Norwegian American Logo

The Norwegian American

The Norwegian American is North America's oldest and only Norwegian newspaper, published since May 17, 1889.